Positive Advanced Training

Taught by Michelle Carroll, in this 7-week class you will continue to improve your basic skills and work on higher levels of distraction and distance. We will begin removing food rewards and increase your verbal and physical praise. In this class you will focus profoundly on being a TEAM. We will work on public access strategies and prepare to take the AKC Canine Good Citizenship Test and receive an introduction to the AKC Community Canine Test. If you & your dog desire to become a Therapy Team you will go through all of the required items required by Keystone Pet Enhanced Therapy Services (KPETS).  KPETS will do the official testing once this class is successfully completed. This class is also a great building block should you decide to venture into dog activities such as Trick Training, Nose Work, Service Dog and Agility.

American Kennel Club’s Canine Good Citizen Test Items

  • Accepting a friendly stranger
  • Sitting politely for petting
  • Appearance and grooming
  • Walking on a loose leash
  • Walking through a crowd
  • Sit and Down on command and Staying in place
  • Coming when called
  • Reaction to another dog
  • Reaction to distractions
  • Supervised separation

American Kennel Club’s Community Canine Test Items

  • Dog stands, sits or lies down and waits under control while the owner sits at the registration table and fills out paperwork, or, while the owner sits and has a snack or visits with someone.
  • Walks on a loose leash in a natural situation does not pull. Left and right turn stop fast and slow pace.
  • Walks on a loose leash through a crowd. This item is tested in a real crowd.
  • Dog walks past distraction dogs present; does not pull.
  • Sit-stay in small group (3 other people with dogs). Owners and dogs are in an informal group while owners have a conversation.
  • Dog allows person who is carrying something (e.g., purse, computer case, backpack) to approach and pet it. “May I pet your dog?” (Item is put on floor/ground before person pets dog)
  • “Leave it.” Dog walks by food and follows owner instructions.
  • Down or sit stay at a distance.
  • Come with distractions present.
  • Dog enters/exits a doorway or narrow passageway in a controlled manner. The official CGC Test will be offered at the conclusion of this class. Additional fees are applicable to have your paperwork submitted to the AKC for your CGC certificate.

Class Information:

Prerequisites:

  • Successful completion of Oscar’s Pet Resort’s basic training class or equivalent training from another training facility.
  • Current vaccinations for DHPP, Bordetella and Rabies (Proof from veterinarian required)
  • Cost: $175  
  • held one hour session weekly for 7 weeks

ALL Vaccinations and Payment must be completed (1) one week prior to the start of class.  Please call credit card payment to 717-397-0726 or mail check and/or vaccinations to Oscar’s Pet Resort 521 Willow Road, Lancaster PA 17601.  Fax 717-397-0731.

Class Schedules:

ADVANCED – SUNDAY– Trainer: Michelle Carroll  
DateWeekTime
Sunday, January 9, 2022 – Bring Dogs & Training Tools14:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, January 16, 202224:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, January 23, 202234:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, January 30, 202244:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, February 6, 202254:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, February 13, 202264:00 – 5:00 pm
Sunday, February 27, 202274:00 – 5:00 pm

ADVANCED – FRIDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll  
DateWeekTime
Saturday, February 5, 2022 – Bring Dogs & Training Tools11:30 – 2:30 pm
Friday, February 11, 202227:30 – 8:30 pm
Thursday, February 18, 202137:30 – 8:30 pm
Friday, February 25, 202247:30 – 8:30 pm
Friday, March 4, 202257:30 – 8:30 pm
Friday, March 11, 202267:30 – 8:30 pm
Friday, March 18, 202277:30 – 8:30 pm
ADVANCED – SUNDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll   
DateWeekTime
Sunday, February 27, 2022 – Bring Dogs & Training Tools 12:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, March 6, 202222:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, March 13, 202232:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, March 20, 202242:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, April 3, 202252:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, April 10, 202262:30 – 3:30pm
Thursday, March 17, 202272:30 – 3:30pm
ADVANCED – FRIDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll   
DateWeekTime
Friday, March 25, 2022 – Bring Dogs & Training Tools 17:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, April 8, 202227:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, April 15, 202237:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, April 22, 202247:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, April 29, 202257:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, May 6, 202267:30 – 8:30pm
Friday, May 13, 202277:30 – 8:30pm