Positive Basic Training

Taught by Michelle Carroll & April Hartman (as noted on schedules) this 7-week class is packed full of useful dog training and rearing information. Dogs 6 months and older will enjoy learning new skills or improving old ones with the use of reward based and force free techniques. We will dig deep into answering the question of WHY does my dog do that? What are they saying, how are they feeling, how can I undo a learned behavior? We often forget they are emotional beings capable of feeling some of the same emotions humans feel. All to often these emotions affect their trainability and health. As we explore getting to know your dog we will teach them useful skills such as sit, down, settle, stay, leave it, come, loose leash walking, meet n greet people & dogs, drop it, impulse control and confidence building. You will learn corresponding hand signals, working from a distance and with distractions. At the end of this class you and your dog will know what to expect for the American Kennel Club Canine Good Citizenship Test. A mock test will be given at the end of the class and prepare you for our Positive Advanced Skills Training Class.

Class Information:

Prerequisites:

Current vaccinations for DHPP, Bordetella and Rabies (Proof from veterinarian required)

  • Cost $175 (cash price)
  • Held one hour session weekly for 7 weeks

ALL Vaccinations and Payment must be completed (1) one week prior to the start of class.  Please call credit card payment to 717-397-0726 or mail check and/or vaccinations to Oscar’s Pet Resort 521 Willow Road, Lancaster PA 17601.  Fax 717-397-0731.

Class Schedules:

BASIC – SUNDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Sunday, March 17, 2024 – Orientation/No Dogs 12:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, March 24, 2024 22:30 – 3:30pm
HOLIDAY BREAK
Sunday, April 7, 2024 32:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, April 14, 2024 42:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, April 21, 2024 52:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, April 28, 2024 62:30 – 3:30pm
Sunday, May 5, 2024 72:30 – 3:30pm
BASIC – SATURDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Saturday, March 30, 2024 – Orientation/No Dogs 12:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, April 6, 2024 22:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, April 13, 2024 32:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, April 20, 2024 42:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, April 27, 2024 52:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, May 4, 2024 62:00 – 3:00pm
Saturday, May 11, 2024 72:00 – 3:00pm
BASIC – FRIDAY – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Friday, April 12, 2024 – Orientation/No Dogs 15:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, April 19, 2024 25:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, April 26, 2024 35:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, May 3, 2024 45:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, May 10, 2024 55:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, May 17, 2024 65:00 – 6:00pm
Friday, May 24, 2024 75:00 – 6:00pm