Positive Basic Training

Taught by Michelle Carroll & April Hartman (as noted on schedules) this 7-week class is packed full of useful dog training and rearing information. Dogs 6 months and older will enjoy learning new skills or improving old ones with the use of reward based and force free techniques. We will dig deep into answering the question of WHY does my dog do that? What are they saying, how are they feeling, how can I undo a learned behavior? We often forget they are emotional beings capable of feeling some of the same emotions humans feel. All to often these emotions affect their train ability and health. As we explore getting to know your dog we will teach them useful skills such as sit, down, settle, stay, leave it, come, loose leash walking, meet n greet people & dogs, drop it, impulse control and confidence building. You will learn corresponding hand signals, working from a distance and with distractions. At the end of this class you and your dog will know what to expect for the American Kennel Club Canine Good Citizenship Test. A mock test will be given at the end of the class and prepare you for our Positive Advanced Skills Training Class.

Class Information:

Prerequisites:

Current vaccinations for DHPP, Bordetella and Rabies (Proof from veterinarian required)

  • Cost $175
  • Held one hour session weekly for 7 weeks

ALL Vaccinations and Payment must be completed (1) one week prior to the start of class.  Please call credit card payment to 717-397-0726 or mail check and/or vaccinations to Oscar’s Pet Resort 521 Willow Road, Lancaster PA 17601.  Fax 717-397-0731.

Class Schedules:

BASIC – Monday – Trainer: April Hartman
DATEWEEKTIME
Monday, November 14, 2022 – Orientation/No Dogs 17:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, November 28, 202227:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, December 5, 202237:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, December 12, 202247:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, December 19, 202257:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, December 26, 202267:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, January 2, 202377:30 – 8:30pm
BASIC – Monday – Trainer: April Hartman
DATEWEEKTIME
Monday, January 9, 2023 – Orientation/No Dogs 16:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, January 16, 202326:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, January 23, 202336:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, January 30, 202346:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, February 13, 202356:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, February 20, 202366:15 – 7:15pm
Monday, February 27, 202376:15 – 7:15pm
BASIC – Monday – Trainer: April Hartman
DATEWEEKTIME
Monday, January 9, 2023 – Orientation/No Dogs 17:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, January 16, 202327:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, January 23, 202337:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, January 30, 202347:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, February 13, 202357:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, February 20, 202367:30 – 8:30pm
Monday, February 27, 202377:30 – 8:30pm
BASIC – Monday – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Sunday, January 22, 2023 – Orientation/No Dogs 11:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, January 29, 202321:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, February 5, 202331:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, February 12, 202341:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, February 19, 202351:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, February 26, 202361:00 – 2:00pm
Sunday, March 5, 202371:00 – 2:00pm
BASIC – Monday – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Sunday, January 22, 2023 – Orientation/No Dogs 12:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, January 29, 202322:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, February 5, 202332:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, February 12, 202342:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, February 19, 202352:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, February 26, 202362:30 – 3:30 pm
Sunday, March 5, 202372:30 – 3:30 pm
BASIC – Monday – Trainer: Michelle Carroll
DATEWEEKTIME
Sunday, January 22, 2023 – Orientation/No Dogs 15:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, January 29, 202325:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, February 5, 202335:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, February 12, 202345:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, February 19, 202355:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, February 26, 202365:30 – 6:30pm
Sunday, March 5, 202375:30 – 6:30pm